jamestkirk2282

A Long Time Ago, In a Galaxy Far, Far Away

In Sci-fi, star trek, star wars on September 6, 2012 at 4:47 AM

While I sit here, watching Toy Hunter, I decided to blog about my favourite story. Star Wars.
I didn’t always like the saga, in fact, I didn’t like em at all. When my father passed away, my mom asked me “Do you want his Star Wars movies, just to keep his memory alive?” I accepted them, then one night, I was bored, and decided to watch Revenge of the Sith. That was it. By the duel with Anakin and Obi-Wan, I was hooked. I could feel the Force flowing through me.
Not long after that, I was reading his old Star Wars books, and buying the old toys. It was a foolish effort on my part to deny who I am.
My Star Wars collection has grown exponentially since then. I have just about every game for the original Xbox, my very own Lightsaber, a Clone Waker from the Lego/ Clone Wars line, and my favourite piece, Qui-Gon Jinn.
Now, I get that the older crowd hates the prequil movies, but I enjoy them. ROTS is my favourite, mainly for the corruption of Annie, and the aforementioned duel. I do like the “originnal” three movies. The story of Luke and the Rebellion is what shapped my childhood. My father watched them ad nausea, and listened to the soundtracks so much that whenever I ear the Imperal March, I smell his cigarettes, and I’m like a five year old again, watching The Empire Strikes Back on his knee.
It wasn’t allways a love affair, as I mentioned, but I knew a few of the characters, and some of the lines. My dad knew that all good things come to thoes who wait…..
Now, I will address the rivalry between Star Wars and Star Trek. Each side having their own fans, and loyal followers. I know that without ‘Trek’ there can be no ‘Wars’. I am a fan of each, and according to my father, I was named after James T. Kirk. I watch, and enjoy all of the Star Trek series episodes. I have a few books, and DVDs, but I rather perfer Star Wars over Star Trek.
Let’s compare the two. Star Trek had Spock, Star Wars had Yoda. Trek had Kirk, Star Wars had Obi-Wan. Trek was rife with Klingons, Star Wars had Vader.
Star Trek had the Enterprise, Star Wars had the Deathstar. That is the best weapon/spaceship in science fiction history.
I know that both sides have loyal followers, and I will probably take some flak for this, but can’t we just agree that both series where and are awesome fun for all?

  1. what did i do when i gave you your dad’s stuff….lol, he would have loved it if you had watched it with him. i had to often enough…. love you son.

  2. Hello, Neat post. There’s an issue along with your website in web explorer, may test this? IE still is the marketplace chief and a huge component to other people will leave out your fantastic writing because of this problem.

  3. My brother suggested I might like this website. He used to be totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how so much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

  4. I’m no longer sure the place you are getting your info, however great topic. I must spend some time studying much more or working out more. Thanks for great info I used to be on the lookout for this information for my mission.

  5. I have been surfing on-line more than three hours lately, yet I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is beautiful value enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content material as you probably did, the web will probably be much more useful than ever before.

  6. I enjoy, result in I found just what I was taking a look for. You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  7. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was once entirely right. This put up truly made my day. You cann’t consider simply how so much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

  8. Dude you didn’t even mention any other Start Trek series, not cool, not cool at all. Although the last and the first pretty much suck.

    • I did not mention them, simply because most people do not know about them. The average person knows Star Trek. That’s it. They don’t know “Enterprise”,”The Original Series”, “The Next Generation”, “Deep Space Nine”, or “Voyager”. Nor for that matter, do do they know any Star Wars movies…..that is why I gave the blog a very general brush stroke. Maybe next time I will refine it and include a “Compare and Contrast” section. Deal?

      Thanks for reading, by the way

Leave a Reply

The Pipe Smoker

Pipe Smoking is Not a Habit.

Talking Horror

A Podcast About All Things Horror

My Nintendo News

Nintendo Switch news

mrguypants

A great WordPress.com site

Michael's Blog

Random Musings from a Random person

ProHockeyTalk

ProHockeyTalk on NBCSports.com

thedroidyourelookingfor.wordpress.com/

Come for the stick figures. Stay for the Bergman.

