jamestkirk2282

Mark Twain Tonight

In Uncategorized on October 13, 2012 at 9:50 PM

I sit here, watching TV, and enjoying my pipe, and the visage of the late Mark Twain creeps into my mind. The image fades with the memories of my mother and I seeing Hal Holbrook star in the traveling production of “Mark Twain Tonight”.

My mother received the free tickets from her boss, as an early birthday present. Since I was the only child who emjoys the theatre, she chose me to go with her; not to mention, that Downtown Sacramento is not the place for a gal to be alone…..

Our seats where for the upper rows, but we got to move down a few rows. The theatre where it was held, was a bit small, if I remember corrrectly, but it held all of us fans, and the great Mr. Holbrook.

The performance by Hal Holbrook was second to none! By far the best Mark Twain I have ever seen! Everything Holbrook had done was top notch. Holbrook didn’t smoke, but still fiddled with his pipe, and even had a puff of “smoke” once in a while. I cannot remember the topics he covered, as it was more than 3 years ago, but I do remember him doing a bit about having a Charley horse, only to shout “Jasper” to the audience’s delight!

I do remember the intermission having alcholic beverages, and my mom buying me my first brandy. I thought it was delicios, if not overly expensive.

If I had the money, I would gladly purchase tickets to see him again. My only hope is that he is still touring after the death of his wife.
If Mr. Holbrook has a production of Mark Twain Tonight near you, go see it. You will not be dissapointed. And if you are, get your head examined!

That night was by far the best time I have had with my mother in a very long time.

Leave a Reply

The Pipe Smoker

Pipe Smoking is Not a Habit.

Talking Horror

A Podcast About All Things Horror

My Nintendo News

Nintendo Switch news

mrguypants

A great WordPress.com site

Michael's Blog

Random Musings from a Random person

ProHockeyTalk

ProHockeyTalk on NBCSports.com

thedroidyourelookingfor.wordpress.com/

Come for the stick figures. Stay for the Bergman.

