jamestkirk2282

Veteran’s Day

In Uncategorized on November 11, 2012 at 7:28 PM

I thought it being a day for rememberance, I would share a few Veteran’s day stories. My entire family has some military history of one kind or another. My father was in the Air Force, as were most of my uncles. My knees being bad prevent me from joining up, but I did join the United States Draft; I will go if I am called, no worries!

My favorite story is one that almost got me hit. I was in a gas station once and two US Marines where in front of me. I talked to em, and thanked them for their service. When it came time for us to pay, I cut in line and told the clerk to put their gas on my tab. “Hey, man, we can pay for our own gas.” said the one who towered over me. I told him “Yeah, but’cha ain’t!” I told em that their service meant the world to me, and paying for their gas was nothing for me to repay. The second Marine wanted to hang my from my shorts, but I won out, and paid for everything.

Another time was when I was shopping and an Air Force private was a few dollars short or something, and had to leave the item behind. I could see in his face that he wanted this item- I think it was juice – so, I bought it and took it to him. I said “Sir, you dropped this” and handed it to him. He said “Thank you, but I didn’t buy it.” I shook my head and said “When you joined the military, you bought it; I just paid for it.” I shook his hand and left him there with his juice. Made me feel better for helping the service member who probably hadn’t seen a decent person since he left home. It’s not anything major, but I wanted him, and all service members to know that not everyone back home despises you.

If you love your feedom, thank a vet!

From the very pit of my heart, thank you, all of you!

Leave a Reply

The Pipe Smoker

Pipe Smoking is Not a Habit.

Talking Horror

A Podcast About All Things Horror

My Nintendo News

Nintendo Switch news

mrguypants

A great WordPress.com site

Michael's Blog

Random Musings from a Random person

ProHockeyTalk

ProHockeyTalk on NBCSports.com

thedroidyourelookingfor.wordpress.com/

Come for the stick figures. Stay for the Bergman.

