jamestkirk2282

A rite of passage

In Movies on May 26, 2013 at 11:00 PM

As boys grow and become men, there are certain rites that they partake in. For some, the act of getting a license to drive, or shooting an animal is that rite. For me and my dad, that, passage was George Lucas’ Star Wars.

One night some twenty odd years ago, my dad asked a five year old me if I wanted to watch a movie with space aliens, robots, and light-swords; what five year old would say no to that? I could read, but not very well, so my dad read the opening crawl to me. Once I saw the Star Destroyer shooting at Princess Leia’s ship, like most kids who saw it in the theaters, I wad hooked! When Vader came abord and demanded the plans, well he was gravy! My mother was sure that he would give me nightmares, but I was facinated! Seeing the Lightsaber for the first time in Ben’s hand and then watching the Death Star explode, I was wishing that,i could fly,an X-Wing just like Luke. As I grew up, however I fell out with the franchise. The merchandise grew while my love dwindled. My dad always held out hope, despite my telling him that it was never going to happen. Hey, I was thirteen, and I wanted to watch girls, ok.

Fast forward a few years, and Episode One came back. I watched it, but was disinterested in it. I saw The Clone Wars, with the same result. My father passed away, and mama asked if I wanted the Star Wars movies just because of my dad. I said sure, with the intent to keep them, but never watch them. Well, one night while facing boredom, I decided that it would be a good idea to see how Darth Vader was created. I reached over to grab my copy of Revenge of the Sith, and by the end I was in awe again, and wishing that I had one more day, just to watch this my dad. I went back and watched the series in order from The Phantom Menace to Return of the Jedi, all in one week! Needless to say, I was hooked!

I decided to pass this rite down to my nephew, as I have no kids. He loves the games because he gets to electrocute the bad guys, and use his Lightsaber to cut them down. Like most five year olds, he loves Darth Vader, why, I do nit know, but so did I at his age! He loves playing Angry Birds Star Wars, and I was going to let him watch his first Star Wars movie. He. Fell. Asleep. Before the end of the credits! The. Beginning. Crawl! Fear not, as I will be trying again in the future!

Well, I must admit that I was pleased with the Clone Wars TV series, even if other people thought that it was dumb. I enjoyed it, but everyone’s different. I was not pleased with the news that Disney, the most evil company on the planet bought the company for a few billion dollars. I blogged about it, if you recall… And u was even more displeased when they announced that due to the new movies coming out, they where canceling the Clone Wars series. The least they could do is end the Maul and Kenobi line, but noooooooo! Disney wants to put out three new movies and then stand alone movies for the next hundred years! I am excited that new movies will be made, yet I am not as happy as I was when the world thought that Episode 3 was it. I hope that Disney can, and will do the films right. I hope that the films released by Marvel (another Disney company) are the mark.

May The Force be with you, dear readers

Leave a Reply

The Pipe Smoker

Pipe Smoking is Not a Habit.

Talking Horror

A Podcast About All Things Horror

My Nintendo News

Nintendo Switch news

mrguypants

A great WordPress.com site

Michael's Blog

Random Musings from a Random person

ProHockeyTalk

ProHockeyTalk on NBCSports.com

thedroidyourelookingfor.wordpress.com/

Come for the stick figures. Stay for the Bergman.

