jamestkirk2282

I regret nothing

In Life on September 12, 2013 at 1:21 AM

As I sit here, my 25th year of life is pretty decent. Like all people from life, I’ve had my share of ups and downs, yet looking back, I don’t see anything that I regret.

When I lived in Utah, it was not the best time if my life. If not for my friends, I’m sure I’d be in prison right now, yet no regrets. On the bright side, I got to experience another town, I met and made new friends and acquired my license. The good outweighs the bad.

When my father died, sure it ripped me apart, but I’m not regretting it. In fact, as heartless as it sounds, I’m happy. Not happy that he died, but rather happy that he’s no longer in pain. I spent 21 good years with him, hugged him tight every time I had to lift him into and out of just wheelchair, and unsaid I love you, dad when I did. Sure, I’d love to have a smoke with him again, or seek his fatherly advice some more, but still no regrets.

When my girlfriend dumped me, I was sad, but I don’t regret it. I don’t regret stating smoking, or the failed jobs I’ve had; none if it. I guess maybe because we only get one go around in life, but I don’t want to be on my deathbed saying “hey, I wish I had done this”. I want to look my family in their eyes and say “remember that time…”
I’m often reminded of what my father told me. I said “son, in this life, make sure that you do what you want, because you only get one go around…” Of course, I don’t subscribe to that whole “YOLO” shit, either. Life isn’t absinthe stupid shit that will get you killed, it’s about helping others, being kind, and an ass to the world…

So, in closing, do what makes you happy…provided it’s legal and no one gets hurt.

Leave a Reply

The Pipe Smoker

Pipe Smoking is Not a Habit.

Talking Horror

A Podcast About All Things Horror

My Nintendo News

Nintendo Switch news

mrguypants

A great WordPress.com site

Michael's Blog

Random Musings from a Random person

ProHockeyTalk

ProHockeyTalk on NBCSports.com

thedroidyourelookingfor.wordpress.com/

Come for the stick figures. Stay for the Bergman.

