jamestkirk2282

Get Lucky

In smoking on September 17, 2013 at 4:03 AM

As some of you may remember, I have no regrets in life, so I decided that I wanted to try smoking a cigarette. Not just any cigarette, mind you. This one had to be a Lucky Strike.

My search began many years ago as I was reading Mickey Spillane’s Mike Hammer. He smoked them, as did just about everyone in the 40s and 50s, and I, wanting to live in that time period felt that I could at least try one. If I didn’t like them, them mama would would have an emergency pack for when times where tough.

Like any reasonable person, in asked the gas station up the road from me first.
“Excuse me, do you have Lucky Strike?” I asked the man.
“Not in about forty years, son.” He replied. Little did I know that I would get used to hearing that…
Not a single gas station or confidence store in my town sold them, not even the so-called cigarette shops in town had them. Granted most of them where staffed by Fijians or Arabs who have probably never heard of them before, but I never gave up. Every time I went into a shop my only question was “Do you have Lucky Strikes?” Of course in was met with disappointment, but I was tenacious in my search.

When I went to Utah, my friend smoked Marlboro or whatever was the cheapest unfiltered non-menthol cigarette he could afford. In asked him if the stores around here sold Luckies. He told me “Hop in; let’s find out!” We went to the local Conoco station; nope. Maverick; no. Chevron; sorry, man. Texico; negative. The littlensmoke shops that sold everything else had none. I asked then elderly smokers if there was a town here that carried em, and one guy asked me “Are you from the war? I haven’t heard anyone trying to find them in years, son!” Needless to say that I was met with more disappointment, but I never gave up.

I returned home and still wanted to see if I would like them. I picked up various odd jobs and wanted the sweet taste (according to YouTube videos) if a Lucky. Fast forward a few months, and sadly my grandmother passes. I came into a bit of money and was downtown to buy some pipes and pipe tobacco. I developed a thirst and decided to step into the mini mart that my parents had used for many years. I saw Pepsi and grabbed one on my way to the counter. I plop my beverage down and decided to ask that fateful question yet again.
“Do you by any chance happen to carry Lucky Strike?”
The shopkeeper turns around and….TOSSES A PACK ON THE COUNTER! He tells me “Forrr you, seven fifty.” (He’s from a former Soviet Satellite, you see) I reach into my pocket and produce eight dollars even. I texted my friends and family, none of whom cared, mind you but I had done it! I had lived a dream that I was convinced would never come to fruition, but it did.

That night, after dinner, instead of reaching for a pipe, I produced a Lucky and light up. To my amazement, it really was a great smoke. It doesn’t have the bite that some other tobaccos have, and I enjoy it. Now, I still smoke the pipe, but for short, pleasured breaks, I reach for a Lucky.

I DO NOT ENCOURAGE THE QUEST FOR, THE ENJOYMENT OF, NOR THE REASONS YOU MAY HAVE FOR SMOKING! I ACCEPT NO LIABILITY FOR YOUR CHOICES IN LIFE! YOU WANNA SMOKE? FINE, JUST BE LEGAL AGE IN YOUR PLACE OF RESIDENCE!  Info, however encourage the keeping of and following of your dreams. That moment when you realize them is just bliss!

Leave a Reply

The Pipe Smoker

Pipe Smoking is Not a Habit.

Talking Horror

A Podcast About All Things Horror

My Nintendo News

Nintendo Switch news

mrguypants

A great WordPress.com site

Michael's Blog

Random Musings from a Random person

ProHockeyTalk

ProHockeyTalk on NBCSports.com

thedroidyourelookingfor.wordpress.com/

Come for the stick figures. Stay for the Bergman.

