jamestkirk2282

Fairness?

In Life on November 21, 2013 at 11:51 AM

Recently at work, we where discussing tattoos. Showing pictures, one of my coworkers commented on another’s choice to get a side tattoo. They asked me if I had any, and of course I do, so I told em. My coworker called me a racist white trash piece of shit because I have a tattoo of the Confederate flag on my shoulder. She went on to say that it is the single most horrible time in the nation’s history. And that I could never be any good. I tried to explain the real reason behind the war, but of course, she wasn’t having any of it.

If my tattoo is racist to you, then so be it. The real reason for the war had nothing to do with race; it was a war to preserve the Union, as Lincoln knew that if the South could succeed with splitting off and forming their own country of sorts, what’s to stop the North, the East, West, and Central states? He knew that if that happened, we would no longer be the United States of America, but we would be more like Europe; one Continent, many countries, and our economy would cripple, and eventually, England could come back over and rule.

I got the tattoo because I’m proud of southern heritage. Before you ask, NO ONE IN MY FAMILY EVER HAD SLAVES! We didn’t believe in working for nothing, and still don’t. I have two friends that are more like brothers to me, and neither of which are white. Side note, General Robert E. Lee and his men didn’t have a single slave!

The same coworker said that my flag tattoo symbolizes the single most bloody, horrible time in our nation. I countered with “How many people since Hawaii and Alaska have been recognized as stars have died for and because of Old Glory?” I love the nation, and always will, but if we remove every shred of anything that is symbolic of a bloody period in our history, let’s remove the American flag. Let’s tell every courtroom, and the US Mint to remove God, as too many wars have been fought because of that religion? Let’s tell Sony, Toyota, Hyundai, Honda, Lexus, BMW, Mercedes-Benz, Porsche, Jaguar, VW, and all the like that they cannot fly their respective flags because it harkens back to a time in America’s history that we would rather not remember. Why we don’t is simple: Freedom of Expression. They can fly the Japanese Flag outside if the Sony building in Times Square, even though they bombed us at Pearl Harbor because of it. The Mini Cooper can have the Union Jack on its roof because of it. We can advertise “You can’t beat the power of GERMAN engineering” when we go into a Volkswagen dealership, when how many Jews did the Nazi soldiers kill in their camps? But I’m labeled a racist because I have the flag of the Confederate States on my shoulder? I say fuck you, read a real history book, and not that watered down tripe they force feed you in school.

Now, if I actively discriminated against the people of a different race, then yes, label me a racist, because by all means, I would be one. If you are going to judge me, then you, yourself had better make damn sure you’re perfect! I don’t go up to a person of a different skin tone and show off my tattoo. This beauty hasn’t seen the light of day since I got it. (Because the weather turned, and I have to wear shirts for work all day).

So, in closing, if we remove the Confederate flag because of its alleged racist connotations, then remove Old Glory and God, because more people have died, and will die for that, then the entirety of both the Union and the Confederate Armies combined.

Thank you for reading, and feel free to comment below and share your opinions with me!

Leave a Reply

The Pipe Smoker

Pipe Smoking is Not a Habit.

Talking Horror

A Podcast About All Things Horror

My Nintendo News

Nintendo Switch news

mrguypants

A great WordPress.com site

Michael's Blog

Random Musings from a Random person

ProHockeyTalk

ProHockeyTalk on NBCSports.com

thedroidyourelookingfor.wordpress.com/

Come for the stick figures. Stay for the Bergman.

